627 Meiring Naudé Road
Brummeria , Pretoria/DST
Building 53

The Department of Science and Technology seeks to boost socio-economic development in South Africa through research and innovation. To achieve its goals, the Department provides leadership, an enabling environment and resources for science, technology and innovation. Through its Programmes (Administration; Technology Innovation; International Cooperation and Resources; Research Development and Support; and Socio-economic Innovation Partnerships) and several entities that work alongside it, the Department is accomplishing groundbreaking science and enhancing the well-being of all South Africans. NRF (National Research Foundation) and SAEON (South African Environmental Observation Network) are subordinated to the ministry.