Integrated Water
Governance Support
System

20171016_144542

GROW – Joint Project iWaGSS: Developing and testing of an innovative water governance system to mitigate water stress and to manage water resources sustainably in regions with overstretched water resources in Africa and worldwide.

img_1491

Our Objective

The Objective of the research project is the development and practical pilot implementation of an innovative water governance system basing on new technologies and tools for mitigating water stress and for a sustainable management of water resources in regions with qualitative and quantitative overused water resources. The project shall contribute to solve the urgent challenges in the field of the global resource water and to achieve the sustainable development goals (SDGs). The overall aim of the project is increasing the control competence in the water sector (good governance).

img_3501

Computer-based
real time
water management
system

The final product should be a computer-based real-time water management system (Decision Support System, real-time-DSS). It consists of a real time monitoring network for water quality monitoring according to implemented standards and limits, risk assessment and hydrological models. Based on those factors the system creates a description of the status quo and a risk profile to which recommendations for action are assigned (e.g. an emergency plan with immediate measures).

img_4165

The iWaGSS concept shall be implemented and demonstrated in a south African pilot region

The pilot region in the North East of South Africa, on the border with Mozambique, has been selected in close cooperation with South African partners. The development of the region is particularly vulnerable to water-related problems and there is concrete demand of operative governance principles. Because of the specific location potential cross-border water conflicts are taken into account and therefore relevant approaches are developed. The practical demonstration area with the world-famous Kruger National Park serves as a flagship project for the global dissemination of the modular iWaGSS water management system.

Integrated Water
Governance Support
System

20171016_144542

GROW – Verbundprojekt iWaGSS: Entwicklung und Erprobung eines innovativen Wassergovernancesystems zur Linderung von Wasserstress und zur vorausschauenden Wasserbewirtschaftung in Regionen mit überbeanspruchten Wasserressourcen in Afrika und weltweit.

img_1491

Unser Ziel

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes ist die Entwicklung und praktische Erprobung eines innovativen Wassergovernancesystems auf der Basis neuartiger Technologien und Werkzeuge zur Linderung von Wasserstress und zur nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung der Wasserressourcen in Regionen mit qualitativ und/oder quantitativ überbeanspruchten Wasserressourcen. Damit wird ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Reaktion auf die drängenden Herausforderungen auf dem Gebiet der globalen Ressource Wasser und zur Umsetzung der Nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (SDGs) geleistet. Globalziel des Projektes ist die Erhöhung der Steuerungskompetenz im Wassersektor (good governance).

img_3501

Computergestütztes
Echtzeit
Wassermanagement
System

Als Produkt soll ein computergestütztes Echtzeit-Wassermanagement-System (Decision Support System, realtime-DSS) entstehen, welches aus den Echtzeitdaten der Wassergüte- und -mengenmessungen entsprechend eingearbeiteter Standards und Grenzwerte, der Risikobewertung und der hydrologischen Modellierung eine Status Quo Beschreibung und darüber hinaus ein Gefährdungsprofil ausweist, dem dann entsprechende Handlungsempfehlungen (z. B. ein Alarmplan mit Sofortmaßnahmen) zugeordnet sind.

img_4165

Das iWaGSS Konzept soll in einer südafrikanischen Modellregion erprobt und demonstriert werden.

Die Region im Nordosten Südafrikas an der Grenze zu Mosambik wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit südafrikanischen Partnern ausgewählt, da die dortige regionale Entwicklung sehr anfällig in Hinblick auf Wasserprobleme ist und konkreter Bedarf an operativen Governance-Konzepten besteht. Durch die Auswahl der Pilotregion werden auch potentielle grenzüberschreitende Wasserkonflikte einbezogen und entsprechende Lösungsansätze entwickelt. Das praktische Anwendungsgebiet mit dem weltweit bekannten Krüger Nationalpark dient hierbei als „öffentlichkeitswirksames Muster“ (Leuchtturm-Wirkung) für die globale Übertragung des modularen iWaGSS Wassermanagementsystems.